Skip to content

Fanatec CSL Steering Wheel GT3 review: $229.99 for the Xbox license and an OLED

Researched overview Manufacturer listings and owner reports, with no hands-on testing.

Fanatec CSL Steering Wheel GT3, front-on view of the round GT3-style rim: two contoured black grips with diamond-texture aluminum inserts either side of a black center plate carrying a small rectangular OLED screen, two yellow-tipped 12-position rotary switches high on the face flanking that screen, a seven-way directional switch below them, and rows of round buttons with removable caps
Image: Fanatec.

The Fanatec CSL Steering Wheel GT3 is a 300 mm GT3-style wheel at $229.99, Fanatec’s regular price on its own US store. Fanatec’s US Steering Wheels category served 24 cards on 2 August 2026 and tagged five of them for Xbox, and this is the cheapest of the five by $40.00 and the second-cheapest card in the category outright. It carries a screen at that price, a 1-inch 128 x 64 white OLED. The Xbox part is in the rim, so attaching this wheel makes the base under it an Xbox base, which is the opposite of how PlayStation works on the same product. Behind the rim are magnetic rocker paddles and two analog paddles that Fanatec says can run brake and throttle on their own.

TypeComplete GT3-style wheel. Fanatec's feature list opens "Full-size GT3-style wheel (300 mm diameter)"
Rim"Overmolded rubber grips with 50 Shore A hardness" over aluminum: "Made from anodized aluminum, precision cut with diamond texture grips". 1290 g including the quick release
InputsTwo 12-position Multi-Position Switches with rotary encoder mode, a 7-way FunkySwitch, two 2-way toggle switches, seven standard buttons with removable caps, two high-bezel snap-dome buttons laser-engraved P and N at "~2500 gf", and a Tuning Menu button
PaddlesMagnetic rocker shifters, "Rocker-type paddle allows up and down-shifts with one hand (possible on both sides)", plus two analog paddles with four switchable modes: clutch bite-point, clutch/handbrake, brake/throttle, and mappable axis
Display"1”, 128 x 64 resolution OLED display (white)", plus an "Xbox® mode LED indicator"
Connectivity"QR2 Lite Wheel-Side (preinstalled)" onto a Fanatec base bought separately. Seven bases named. A QR1 base works with a QR1 wheel-side bought separately
PlatformsPC flat yes. Xbox through this wheel. PlayStation through a PlayStation-licensed base
In the boxTwo lines: "CSL Steering Wheel GT3" and "QR2 Lite Wheel-Side preinstalled"
Price$229.99 regular on Fanatec's US store on 2 August 2026, with no sale price shown. The cheapest base under it is the $399.99 CSL DD QR2 (5 Nm), for $629.98
Best forXbox racers on a Fanatec base who want GT3 controls and a screen without paying ClubSport money

Someone buying into Fanatec on a console, or already on a Fanatec base, who wants the GT3 control set at the bottom of the range rather than the middle of it.

Buy it if:

  • You race on an Xbox. This wheel is what makes a Fanatec base an Xbox base, and Fanatec is explicit that the whole system follows: “including attached peripherals such as shifters, pedals, or handbrake”.
  • You want rotaries you can actually assign. Two 12-position switches that also run as rotary encoders, plus a 7-way FunkySwitch, covers traction control, brake bias, and a menu without taking a hand off the rim.
  • You want a display at this price. The 1-inch OLED is a real readout for gear, speed, and the Tuning Menu, where the cheaper CSL P1 V2 gets a three-digit LED.

Not the one if you race rally or drift, where the CSL Elite WRC below trades the screen for Alcantara and removable paddles, or if you want the metal quick release, which no CSL wheel ships. And not the one if you are not on a Fanatec base at all: there is no USB mode and no cross-brand mount, so the $229.99 buys a wheel that steers nothing until a Fanatec base is under it.

The analog paddles are the feature the price does not suggest

Section titled “The analog paddles are the feature the price does not suggest”

Four modes on one pair of paddles. Fanatec lists them: “Clutch bite-point mode (standard/advanced)”, “Clutch/handbrake mode”, “Brake/throttle mode (allows driving without pedals connected)”, and “Mappable axis mode”. The center switch changes which one is live, and Fanatec’s own copy says the switch does it “with a flick”.

The bite-point mode is the one that wins race starts. Fanatec: “The advanced bite-point mode allows you to determine the optimal bite-point before the start of the race and initiate the perfect launch every time.” That is a dual-clutch setup on a $229.99 wheel, and it works “in any game with analog clutch input” by Fanatec’s own qualification.

Brake and throttle on the paddles is a travel feature, not a pedal replacement. Fanatec states the mode plainly and states nothing about how well it drives. What a pedal set buys over it is pressure: a load cell measures force rather than travel, which is what makes a brake point repeatable lap after lap. Sim racing pedals covers the difference.

The shifters are rockers rather than paddles. “Rocker-type paddle allows up and down-shifts with one hand (possible on both sides)”, cut “from a single block of anodized aluminum” in Fanatec’s words, on a magnetic mechanism. One hand can take both shifts, which matters on a wheel this size when the rim is past 90 degrees.

The torque question, and where its answer is written

Section titled “The torque question, and where its answer is written”

This wheel’s own listing says it is not capped, and Fanatec’s ClubSport DD base listing says every Lite wheel is. Both are Fanatec, both are live, and this site does not reconcile them.

What this wheel’s page says. Its Special Notes read: “This wheel allows High Torque Mode on ClubSport DD / DD+ and Podium DD1 / DD2 bases with the preinstalled QR2 Lite Wheel-Side.” Its feature list adds a line under the quick-release block: “Allows maximum torque on ClubSport DD and Podium DD bases”.

What it does not carry. No “8 Nm MAX” badge. Searched case-insensitively across the whole served document on 2 August 2026, the string returns zero hits, where the CSL P1 V2 and the CSL Elite WRC listings each return four, two of which survive stripping the document’s <script> blocks. The badge is an image whose alt text reads exactly “8 Nm MAX”, and on those two listings it renders.

What sits on the other side. Fanatec’s ClubSport DD listing carries the Special Note “Steering Wheels fitted with QR2 Lite Wheel-Side will be limited to 8 Nm torque.” with no exception named. Fanatec has published both and reconciled neither. The QR2 guide sets out all four Fanatec statements on the cap, which wheels each one names, and why the per-wheel listing is the only statement about a specific combination.

Four bases on this page, all bases in the article. Fanatec’s news piece “QR2 Lite: Torque Limit Lifted for Select Fanatec Wheels” names this wheel as one of two that “launched without any torque restrictions” and says the pair “now work with QR2 Lite Wheel-Side at full torque on all Fanatec Bases, including the flagship Podium DD (2026)”. The wheel’s own Special Note names four bases and the 2026 Podium DD is not among them. Buy off the note if the base you own is one of the four; ask Fanatec if it is not.

CSL GT3 against CSL Elite WRC: $40.00, Alcantara, and a badge

Section titled “CSL GT3 against CSL Elite WRC: $40.00, Alcantara, and a badge”

Fanatec sells these as two listings with two SKUs, CRD-9020021-WW and CRD-9020016-WW, each with its own price, its own feature list, and its own compatibility block. This site records them as two products for the same reason: the core hardware differs, which is the second of the three split tests on configurations.

WheelPrice, Fanatec US store, 2 August 2026GenerationLifecycleWhat Fanatec’s own copy gives it that the GT3’s does notBuy
Fanatec CSL Elite Steering Wheel WRC$269.99 regular, no sale price shownNone publishedNot stated. Fanatec publishes no lifecycle a shopper can read; the listing was one of 24 cards in its US Steering Wheels category on 2 August 2026A rally rim and a torque ceiling. “Wheel rim covered with genuine Alcantara® and an eye-catching orange cross-stitched seam” and “Brushed aluminium spokes with fibre-reinforced back cover” against the GT3’s overmolded rubber over anodized aluminum. “Removable paddles for using wheel in combination with ClubSport Static Shifter Paddles”, which the GT3’s magnetic rockers are not. An “Integrated RevStripe™” above a “Three-digit LED display” where the GT3 has a 128 x 64 OLED. It carries an “8 Nm MAX” badge and qualifies its three Podium bases “(Low Torque Mode only*)”, and the GT3 carries neither. It ships a spare set of “Racing Style button caps” and it lists no analog paddles at allFanatec

The badge is the $40.00 question, not the Alcantara. Fanatec’s own news article lists the WRC among four wheels that “remain locked to Low Torque Mode” and says of them “These wheels are not designed to withstand high torque and will continue to operate with the 8 Nm limit.” So on a 15 Nm ClubSport DD or an 18 Nm ClubSport DD+, the more expensive of these two wheels is the one Fanatec says will not use the base. On an 8 Nm Gran Turismo DD Pro or a 5 Nm CSL DD, that difference costs nothing.

Both put the Xbox license in the rim, and only one has a screen. The WRC’s version of the sentence reads “A connected Fanatec wheel base will become compatible with the Xbox One and Xbox Series X|S due to integration of the Xbox-specific electronics into the wheel”, which is the same mechanism the GT3 states in different words. What the WRC does not have is an OLED, analog paddles, or a 12-position switch of any kind.

The WRC’s feature list still describes a quick release it does not ship. It names a “New tool-free Simplified Quick Release Adapter design” that is “Exchangeable, supports ClubSport Quick Release Adapter*”, and gives the wheel’s weight twice against those two parts, “1092 g (with Simplified QRA)” and “1280 g with ClubSport QRA”. Its “What’s Included” block reads “QR2 Lite Wheel-side Quick Release Adapter (pre-installed)”. Both published weights are therefore measured with a quick release the box no longer holds, so neither is this wheel’s weight today.

The McLaren GT3 V2 is gone from the store, and Fanatec redirects it to this wheel

Section titled “The McLaren GT3 V2 is gone from the store, and Fanatec redirects it to this wheel”

Fanatec sells no McLaren-branded product. Its US store search returns “0 items found for keyword mclaren”, where the same box returns “31 Products listed” for “gt3”, and no product URL whose slug carries “mclaren” appears in any of the five regional product sitemaps, checked 2 August 2026.

Fanatec’s own article links the old wheel to this listing. “QR2 Lite: Torque Limit Lifted for Select Fanatec Wheels” links the words “CSL Elite McLaren GT3 V2” to /us/en/p/steering-wheels/wheel-mclaren-gt3-v2-qr-2/csl-elite-steering-wheel-mclaren-gt3-v2-qr2-wheel-side, and that URL answers HTTP 301 to this wheel’s listing at crd-9020021-ww/csl-steering-wheel-gt3. The same path redirects the same way on the Australian, European, and Japanese storefronts and returns 404 on the Canadian one. What a 301 settles is where a shopper lands. Fanatec has published no statement that the two wheels are the same hardware, so treat the redirect as the routing decision it is.

WheelPriceGenerationLifecycleWhat Fanatec still publishes about itBuy
Fanatec CSL Elite Steering Wheel McLaren GT3 V2None published. Fanatec states no price for it on any surface read 2 August 2026, because it serves no listing for itV2, written that way on Fanatec’s QR2 page, on all four of its Documentation labels, and in its torque articleNot stated, and Fanatec’s surfaces read two ways. The store carries no listing at all. The QR2 page lists it among wheels that can be upgraded and not among the ten under “Legacy Steering Wheels not compatible with QR2:”, which is the one place Fanatec applies that word to a steering wheelThree surfaces and no listing. The QR2 page files it under “Steering Wheels that can be upgraded with QR2 Lite Wheel-Side or QR2 Wheel-Side/Pro Wheel-Side:”, so its quick release is the exchangeable kind. The Documentation page serves four Declarations of Conformity for it, two labeled “CSL Elite Steering Wheel McLaren GT3 V2” giving “Model: RSR0020” and two labeled “CSL Elite Steering Wheel McLaren GT3 V2 QR2” giving “Model: RSR0061”. The torque article lists it among five wheels and hubs “now fully unlocked for High Torque Mode, even when used with a QR2 Lite Wheel-Side”Not sold by Fanatec. Its own product URL redirects to this page’s listing

The torque answers do not carry across, because the article puts the two wheels in different groups. The McLaren GT3 V2 is one of five Fanatec says are “now fully unlocked”, a state it reached through a firmware change: “Previously, sim racers using popular wheels like the CSL Elite McLaren GT3 V2 or the ClubSport F1® Esports V2 were restricted to Low Torque Mode if they were using the QR2 Lite Wheel-Side.” The CSL Steering Wheel GT3 is in the other group, the two “Newer CSL products launched without any torque restrictions”. So a used McLaren GT3 V2 reaches full torque only on software carrying that change, which Fanatec dates to “the release of Driver 467” and now routes through the Fanatec App. This wheel had no restriction to lift. The QR2 guide sets out all four Fanatec statements about the cap and which one is about a given wheel.

The McLaren GT3 V2 is on Fanatec’s exchangeable-quick-release list and this wheel is not. Its wheel-side can be the composite QR2 Lite, the $89.99 metal QR2 Wheel-Side, or the $199.99 QR2 Pro, the last two in stock on Fanatec’s US store on 2 August 2026. Fanatec certified two of those builds separately: the Declaration of Conformity under “Model: RSR0020” and the one under “Model: RSR0061” are the plain and QR2 versions of the same named wheel, signed 26 June 2025 and 29 May 2025. Which of the two a used wheel is decides what its next owner has to buy, and the QR2 guide prices both halves of a QR1 rig moving across. The CSL Steering Wheel GT3 appears on neither of the QR2 page’s two upgrade lists, and what its own listing states is narrower: “This wheel uses a QR2 quick release; it is also compatible with QR1.”

Logitech’s McLaren wheel is a different product from a different brand. Logitech G sells the RS Formula Wheel McLaren Racing Edition at $129.99, a bare formula rim with no controls that mounts on Logitech’s own RS Wheel Hub or RS QR Adapter. What it shares with the Fanatec wheel above is a car maker’s name. The manufacturer, the license, the shape, and the mount are all different, and no Fanatec base takes it.

Every McLaren GT3 V2 figure, quotation, and status code above was read on 2 August 2026. Sources: Fanatec’s QR2 page for the upgradable and legacy lists, its Documentation page for the four Declaration of Conformity labels and the two PDFs behind them, the Fanatec Explorer article QR2 Lite: Torque Limit Lifted for Select Fanatec Wheels for the three groups of wheels and the link that redirects, and the US products sitemap reached through robots.txt for the McLaren URL count. Redirect status codes were read with curl -sSI and a desktop Chrome user agent.

$229.99 buys a wheel that turns nothing on its own. Every compatibility answer Fanatec gives for it names a base.

The cheapest base under it is $399.99. Fanatec’s US wheel-bases category served six cards and reported “6 results available” on 2 August 2026, and five of the six are on this wheel’s compatibility list: the CSL DD QR2 (5 Nm) at $399.99, the CSL DD QR2 (8 Nm) at $519.98 regular against $479.99 that day, the Gran Turismo DD PRO Wheel Base (8 Nm) at $599.99, the ClubSport DD (15 Nm) at $699.99, and the ClubSport DD+ (18 Nm) at $899.99. The sixth is the Podium DD (25 Nm) at $1,199.99, and it is the one base Fanatec cards that this wheel’s own list does not name. Wheel plus the $399.99 base is $629.98 at regular prices.

Add pedals and the parts come to $769.97. The cheapest set Fanatec sells that this base takes is the CSL Pedals at $139.99, a two-pedal throttle and brake. $399.99 plus $139.99 plus $229.99 is $769.97.

Fanatec’s own bundle of those three parts is $599.99. The CSL DD Ready2Race GT3 Bundle (5 Nm) lists “1x CSL DD QR2 (5 Nm)”, “1x CSL Pedals”, and “1x CSL Steering Wheel GT3”, and prices them at $599.99 against a shown “Original price: $769.97” and a “Discount: $169.98”. That original price is the sum of the three listings to the cent, which is unusual: the Ready2Race page covers the eleven of fourteen bundles that show an original price and the three that show none. Every figure in this section was read 2 August 2026.

Seven, named. The compatibility block opens “Note: This wheel uses a QR2 quick release; it is also compatible with QR1. The following Bases are compatible:” and lists CSL DD, Gran Turismo DD Pro Wheel Base, ClubSport DD, ClubSport DD+, Podium Wheel Base DD1, Podium Wheel Base DD1 PS4, and Podium Wheel Base DD2. Three of those seven are bases Fanatec no longer cards in its wheel-bases category.

A QR1 base costs a part. Fanatec: “It is possible to install a QR1 Wheel-Side for use on Direct Drive Bases with QR1. However, it is recommended to upgrade your QR1 Direct Drive Base to QR2 for better performance with this wheel.” Both halves of that upgrade are priced in the QR2 guide, which also lists the six legacy bases that cannot be upgraded at all.

The wheel-side in the box is the composite one. Fanatec’s feature block for it reads “Carbon fiber-reinforced composite”, with a “Spring-loaded locking pin mechanism and tapered shape naturally ensures a tight fit”. Fanatec does not sell that part separately, so on this wheel the quick release is not a component you swap. The metal QR2 Wheel-Side is $89.99 and the QR2 Pro is $199.99 for the wheels that take one.

  • No Fanatec base, no wheel. There is no USB mode, no adapter, and no cross-brand quick release named anywhere on the listing. Price a base in before this wheel is a purchase at all.
  • The torque answer is contested and Fanatec has not settled it. This wheel’s page says High Torque Mode on four named bases; the ClubSport DD’s page says every Lite wheel is capped at 8 Nm. If your base is a 15 Nm or 18 Nm ClubSport, read both before ordering.
  • The rotaries are 12-position switches first. Fanatec’s own wording is “The 12-way switches allow for advanced multi-position modes and endless rotary encoder functionality for wider compatibility between racing sims”, so which behavior you get depends on the sim as much as on the switch.
  • Advanced functions depend on the game. Fanatec: “While most button inputs (including paddle shifters) are generally compatible across all games and platforms, certain advanced features may be unavailable, as their functionality relies on game developers integrating support for the Fanatec SDK.”
  • The refurbished listing is a second SKU. Fanatec carries a Certified Refurbished CSL Steering Wheel GT3 at $160.99 against a shown $229.99, which read “Currently Unavailable” on 2 August 2026 with zero inventory. It is the same hardware on its own page, so a sold-out reading there says nothing about the new one.
  • Fanatec ClubSport GT V2: $639.97 regular and $514.99 on 2 August 2026, for a 330mm suede GT rim on the ClubSport Universal Hub V2 with the metal QR2 wheel-side rather than the Lite. The step up inside the same ecosystem, and the one that ends the 8 Nm argument by not being a Lite wheel.
  • Fanatec ClubSport Universal Hub V2: $369.99 with a QR2 Wheel-Side, the way to pick your own rim on a Fanatec base. More money for fewer controls in the box, and no torque footnote.
  • MOZA KS: $279.00 regular for a 300mm butterfly GT rim with three rotaries and two joysticks. The comparable purchase if the base under it is a Moza rather than a Fanatec, and Moza names no console for it.
  • Simagic GT Neo: ~$240 for a 300 mm GT wheel with magnetic shift paddles and dual clutch, native on Simagic Alpha bases. Same money, a different ecosystem, and no console license at all.

Check your base against Fanatec’s seven-name list and read the wheel’s own Special Note rather than the base’s before ordering. Rims and quick-releases covers what a quick release keeps and drops across brands, and how much torque you need covers the base side.

Every Fanatec URL below returned HTTP 200 on 2 August 2026, and every price, feature line, count, and quotation above was read that day. Prices are the price field in each listing’s own Product JSON-LD, matching the price printed on the page.

  • CSL Steering Wheel GT3 at $229.99, for the feature list, the Platforms block, the Compatibility block and its seven bases, the “What’s Included” block, and all three Special Notes. The “8 Nm MAX” count is a case-insensitive search of that whole document, which returns 0.
  • CSL Elite Steering Wheel WRC at $269.99, for the family-table row: the price, the feature list including both quick-release weights, the Alcantara and spoke lines, the “(Low Torque Mode only*)” qualifiers, the Xbox-electronics sentence, and the box list. Its “8 Nm MAX” count is 4, and 2 of the 4 survive stripping the document’s <script> blocks, so the badge renders.
  • CSL Steering Wheel P1 V2 (QR2 Lite) at $169.99, for the three-digit LED comparison and its own “8 Nm MAX” count of 4.
  • Steering Wheels category, for the 24 cards, the “24 results available” count, and each card’s own compatibility tags, which is where the five Xbox-tagged wheels were counted: this one and the WRC carry “Xbox (D4X)”, and the ClubSport GT3 Endurance for Xbox, Rally Sweden for XBOX, and Porsche 911 GT3 R V2 for Xbox carry “Xbox”, at $684.99, $684.99, and $734.99 that day against regular prices of $839.97, $889.97, and $939.96. Wheel Bases category, for its six cards, its “6 results available” count, and the base prices: CSL DD QR2 (5 Nm) at $399.99 and the five above it.
  • CSL Pedals at $139.99, and CSL DD Ready2Race GT3 Bundle (5 Nm) at $599.99 for its three bundle-contents lines, its “Original price: $769.97”, and its “Discount: $169.98”.
  • Certified Refurbished CSL Steering Wheel GT3 at $160.99, for the refurbished price and its out-of-stock reading.
  • Fanatec Explorer: QR2 Lite: Torque Limit Lifted for Select Fanatec Wheels, for the two wheels that “launched without any torque restrictions” and the four that “remain locked to Low Torque Mode”. The ClubSport DD listing is where the opposing Special Note renders, and the QR2 guide on this site quotes and dates all four Fanatec statements on the cap.
  • The McLaren GT3 V2 section above carries its own sources, because one of them is a redirect rather than a page: Fanatec’s QR2 page, its Documentation page and two Declaration of Conformity PDFs, the same torque article, the US products sitemap and its four regional siblings, and the store search. The one Fanatec URL on this page that does not return HTTP 200 is that wheel’s own product URL, which returns 301.

Which platforms it works on

PC
Yes“PC: This product is compatible with Windows PC.” Fanatec’s own listing, checked August 2026.The listing's own answer under its Platforms heading, quoted whole. Fanatec qualifies it two lines further down, in a sentence that covers the consoles rather than PC: "The full functionality can only be guaranteed on PC; this is also game-dependent."
PlayStation
Only with another part“PlayStation: This product is compatible with PS4 and PS5 when paired with a PlayStation-licensed direct drive Base.” Fanatec’s own listing, checked August 2026.Fanatec names the platform and names what has to be bought to reach it in one sentence, which is what this state is for. The base is the other part and it is not in this box.
Xbox
Yes“Xbox: This Wheel enables compatibility with Xbox One® and Xbox Series X|S.” “Designed for the Xbox Series X|S and Xbox One® consoles” Fanatec’s own listing, checked August 2026.The first is the Platforms block's Xbox line and the second is the second item of the listing's own Features list. This is a claim about the wheel carrying the console rather than about the wheel reaching it: `consoleLicence` below is where Fanatec names the part.
Console license
One console in the base, another in the wheel“Attach this wheel to any compatible FANATEC® base and the whole system (including attached peripherals such as shifters, pedals, or handbrake) will work on Xbox Series X|S and Xbox One®.” “PlayStation: This product is compatible with PS4 and PS5 when paired with a PlayStation-licensed direct drive Base.” Fanatec’s own listing, checked August 2026.Two Fanatec sentences from two blocks of one listing, the first from the feature block headed "Designed for Xbox®." and the second from the Platforms block, quoted separately because they answer for different consoles and neither is a restatement of the other. A third sentence on the page, "Full-size GT3-style steering wheel officially licensed for Xbox Series X|S and Xbox One®.", names the license without naming a part, which content.config.ts says is not an answer to this field on its own.
How it connects
Only through a wheelbase or hub“QR2 Lite Wheel-Side (preinstalled)” “Note: This wheel uses a QR2 quick release; it is also compatible with QR1. The following Bases are compatible:” “It is possible to install a QR1 Wheel-Side for use on Direct Drive Bases with QR1. However, it is recommended to upgrade your QR1 Direct Drive Base to QR2 for better performance with this wheel.”Fanatec’s own listing, checked August 2026.The first line is the second and last item on the listing's "What's Included" block. The second opens its Compatibility block and runs into a list of seven bases: CSL DD, Gran Turismo DD Pro Wheel Base, ClubSport DD, ClubSport DD+, Podium Wheel Base DD1, Podium Wheel Base DD1 PS4™, and Podium Wheel Base DD2. The third is a Special Note and it is the one that says the QR1 route costs a part: a QR1 wheel-side is a purchase Fanatec does not include here, and /hardware/fanatec-qr2/ prices both halves of that upgrade. Every route Fanatec names for this wheel ends at a Fanatec base, so the $229.99 buys a wheel that steers nothing on its own.

Fanatec answers all three platforms in rendered copy on this listing, which three of the four CSL wheels recorded this pass do not: the Porsche Vision GT renders no Platforms block at all, and the P1 V2 and the WRC each render one that leaves a platform unanswered.

Frequently asked questions

Does the Fanatec CSL Steering Wheel GT3 work on Xbox?

Yes, and the license is in the wheel rather than the base. Fanatec says "Attach this wheel to any compatible FANATEC® base and the whole system (including attached peripherals such as shifters, pedals, or handbrake) will work on Xbox Series X|S and Xbox One®." PlayStation works the other way around: "This product is compatible with PS4 and PS5 when paired with a PlayStation-licensed direct drive Base." PC is a flat yes. Read on Fanatec's US store on 2 August 2026.

Does the CSL GT3 limit my ClubSport DD to 8 Nm?

Its own listing says no, and Fanatec's ClubSport DD listing says yes about Lite wheels in general. The wheel's Special Note reads "This wheel allows High Torque Mode on ClubSport DD / DD+ and Podium DD1 / DD2 bases with the preinstalled QR2 Lite Wheel-Side." It carries no "8 Nm MAX" badge, where the P1 V2 and the CSL Elite WRC both do. The QR2 guide sets out all four Fanatec statements on the cap and which one is about your wheel.

Which wheelbases does the CSL GT3 fit?

Fanatec names seven: CSL DD, Gran Turismo DD Pro Wheel Base, ClubSport DD, ClubSport DD+, Podium Wheel Base DD1, Podium Wheel Base DD1 PS4, and Podium Wheel Base DD2. A QR1 base takes it too, at the price of a QR1 wheel-side bought separately, and Fanatec recommends upgrading the base to QR2 instead. See wheelbases for the base side of the buy.

Can you really drive it without pedals?

Fanatec says so, for the two analog paddles behind the rim. Its feature list gives them four switchable modes and describes one as "Brake/throttle mode (allows driving without pedals connected)". That is a paddle pair standing in for a pedal set rather than a replacement for one: a load-cell brake is still what makes braking repeatable, which the pedals guide covers.

CSL GT3 or CSL Elite WRC?

$40.00, a grip material, and an 8 Nm badge. The GT3 is $229.99 with overmolded rubber grips, magnetic rocker paddles, two analog paddles, and a 1-inch OLED; the WRC is $269.99 with a "Wheel rim covered with genuine Alcantara® and an eye-catching orange cross-stitched seam", removable orange metal paddles, no analog paddles, and a three-digit LED instead of a screen. The WRC's listing carries an "8 Nm MAX" badge and qualifies all three Podium bases with "(Low Torque Mode only*)"; the GT3's carries neither. Both prices read on Fanatec's US store on 2 August 2026.

Is the CSL Steering Wheel GT3 the old McLaren GT3 V2?

Fanatec has not said so, and it has redirected. The product URL for the CSL Elite Steering Wheel McLaren GT3 V2 answers HTTP 301 to this wheel's listing on the US, Australian, European, and Japanese stores, and returns 404 on the Canadian one. Fanatec sells no McLaren-branded product now: its store search returns "0 items found for keyword mclaren" and no McLaren product URL appears in any of its five regional sitemaps. Its own torque article still lists the two wheels in separate groups, so nothing Fanatec publishes calls them one product. Read 2 August 2026.

What does the CSL GT3 cost to actually steer with?

$629.98 at Fanatec's regular prices, wheel plus the cheapest base it fits, which is the CSL DD QR2 (5 Nm) at $399.99. Add the $139.99 CSL Pedals and the parts come to $769.97. Fanatec's own CSL DD Ready2Race GT3 Bundle (5 Nm) sells those same three things for $599.99, showing $769.97 as its original price and a $169.98 discount. All four figures read 2 August 2026.