Wheelbases: belt vs direct drive explained
Wheelbases come in three drive types: gear-driven, belt-driven, and direct drive. They differ in one thing, how motor torque reaches the wheel rim, and that single difference decides how smooth, detailed, quiet, and strong the force feedback is.
The three wheelbase types
Section titled “The three wheelbase types”| Drive type | How torque reaches the rim | Torque ceiling | Feel | Noise | Examples |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gear | Motor through reduction gears | ~2 Nm | Notchy, backlash | Loud | Logitech G29, G920, G923 |
| Belt | Motor through a toothed belt | ~4 Nm | Smoother but muffled | Quiet | Thrustmaster T300, T-GT, TS-PC |
| Direct drive | Rim bolts to the motor shaft, 1:1 | 5–35 Nm | Clean, detailed, low latency | Near-silent | Moza, Fanatec CSL DD, Simagic, Simucube |
Gear-driven: cheap, notchy, loud
Section titled “Gear-driven: cheap, notchy, loud”A gear-driven base feels notchy because of backlash, the slack between gear teeth. Every time the force changes direction, the teeth have to take up that gap before they bite, and you feel it as a faint click or step. It is most obvious on straights, where the forces are tiny and the gear lash is a large fraction of what you feel. Gears are also loud, and they wear. A Logitech G29 or G920 delivers roughly 2 Nm at the rim, and that is the practical ceiling. A bigger motor just chews the gears faster.
Belt-driven: smoother but muffled
Section titled “Belt-driven: smoother but muffled”A belt-driven base swaps the gears for a toothed belt and pulleys. The belt damps vibration, so it is smoother and quieter than gears and loses the notchy clicking. The cost is detail: the belt has compliance (it stretches slightly under load), which filters out fine information like kerb texture and tire scrub and adds a touch of lag and dead feel on-center. Torque is capped by what the belt can transmit before it slips or wears, so belt bases top out around the same place gear bases do.
Direct drive: the motor is the wheel
Section titled “Direct drive: the motor is the wheel”In a direct-drive base the wheel mounts directly to the motor shaft, so the force you feel is the torque the motor makes, 1:1. No gears, no belt, no backlash. That means lower latency, near-silent operation, and no consumable parts to wear out. Fine detail survives all the way to the rim because nothing mechanical sits in between to filter it. You feel the front tires load under braking, the kerb rumble, the moment the rear steps out.
Why direct drive won
Section titled “Why direct drive won”Belt and gear bases cannot scale torque. Drop a bigger motor into one and you just chew up the belt or the gears. The mechanism is the ceiling. Direct drive scales by fitting a bigger motor and a smarter controller, with no extra parts in the path. On top of that, the price gap that used to justify belt drives has collapsed: entry DD now starts around the price of a good belt base.
What about cogging?
Section titled “What about cogging?”Cogging, or torque ripple, was DD’s historical weakness: faint magnetic “steps” you feel at low speed as the rotor passes the stator poles. Better motors, high-resolution encoders, and firmware filtering have largely killed it on current bases. Old or very cheap DD units can still show a trace of it, but on a modern base it is a non-issue.
How much torque (Nm) do you actually need?
Section titled “How much torque (Nm) do you actually need?”5 to 8 Nm is plenty for most drivers. GT and formula cars in iRacing feel right in that range, and 8 Nm is the common sweet spot. For reference, real race cars with power steering sit around 3 to 7 Nm at the rim, so high torque numbers are headroom, not realism. For the full breakdown of how much torque you actually need, see the dedicated torque guide.
Torque by tier:
- Entry: Fanatec GT DD Pro 5 Nm (8 Nm with the boost kit), Moza R5 ~5.5 Nm, Fanatec CSL DD 8 Nm, Logitech G PRO 11 Nm.
- Mid: Moza R9 9 Nm, Moza R12 12 Nm, Simagic Alpha class 12-18 Nm, Fanatec ClubSport DD 15 Nm and DD+ 18 Nm holding torque, raised from 12 and 15 Nm respectively by the May 2026 firmware update, version V1.4.2.3 or later (Fanatec’s own listings, checked July 2026).
- High: Moza R21 21 Nm and R25 Ultra 25 Nm, Fanatec Podium DD “25 Nm holding torque (33 Nm peak overshoot)” in Fanatec’s own features list (checked 31 July 2026), Simucube 3 Pro 25 Nm and Simucube 3 Ultimate 35 Nm.
One mount warning, and the numbers in it are owner consensus rather than a published rating. Owners put a desk clamp at about 8 Nm comfortable and about 13 Nm before the wobble gets annoying, which the mounting guide collects along with what wheel stands and rigs hold in practice.
Moza, Logitech, and Thrustmaster publish no such figure on the listings the table below quotes. Moza offers a desktop clamp for the 12 Nm R12 as one of three mounts and describes the clamp it sells as “engineered to handle full direct drive torque” (Table Clamp, checked July 2026). Logitech subtitles the clamp for the 8 Nm RS50 “Keep the RS50 secured on your desk even at max torque” (Table Clamp for RS50, checked July 2026). A clamp surviving the torque is a different question from a desk holding still under it, which is what a bolted aluminum-profile rig buys. Budget for the mount before you buy more Nm than your desk can hold.
Reviews of specific bases
Section titled “Reviews of specific bases”Each page below covers torque, price, platform support, who it’s for, and what to buy instead. New to this and want the short path, skip to the buying guide by budget.
These tiers sort by torque, which puts complete systems next to bare bases. The Moza R3, Moza R5, and Thrustmaster T598 include a wheel and pedals, the Logitech RS50 System includes a wheel and no pedals, the Cammus C5 has a fixed wheel, and every other base here is sold on its own. One entry is sorted by the torque it ships at rather than the torque it reaches: the VRS uDFP20 starts at 6 Nm and unlocks to 20 Nm on the same motor, so it sits in Entry+ and belongs beside the high-end bases on ceiling. Moza’s US store sells no R3 or R5 base on its own (wheel bases, checked July 2026), so those two bundle prices have no base price to compare against. What each product includes, what it lists for, what the hardware costs on its own, what it costs with a wheel on it, and what it costs with pedals under that is below.
Entry: the cheapest real direct drive
- Moza R3: 3.9 Nm, Xbox-capable, the G29/G920 replacement.
- Cammus C5: 5 Nm all-in-one, the cheapest real DD (PC).
Entry+: your first serious base
- Moza R5: 5.5 Nm, the $599 bundle that steers and brakes out of the box, with the best starter ecosystem.
- Fanatec CSL DD: 5 Nm, boostable to 8 Nm with the Boost Kit.
- Fanatec GT DD Pro: the PlayStation-licensed CSL DD.
- Thrustmaster T598: 5 Nm axial-flux DD, a bundle sold in a PlayStation/PC box and an Xbox/PC box.
- VRS uDFP20: 6 Nm for $449, on the one base here whose torque is a software code and climbs to 20 Nm for $99 a rung.
Mid: the 8 to 9 Nm sweet spot
- Moza R9: 9 Nm, the buy-once value pick.
- Simagic Alpha EVO Sport: 9 Nm, feel leader for the money.
- Logitech RS50: 8 Nm, Logitech’s first true DD, tri-platform.
- Logitech RS50 System: the same 8 Nm base at $699.99 with the RS Wheel Hub and a round rim already on it, and still no pedals.
Mid+: 10 to 12 Nm
- Simagic Alpha Mini: 10 Nm for $399, the cheap way into Simagic’s ecosystem.
- Moza R12: 12 Nm, needs a stiff rig.
- Simagic Alpha EVO: 12 Nm with EVO-line feel.
High-end: 15 Nm and up
- Simagic Alpha: 15 Nm for $649, and Simagic labels the figure neither peak nor holding.
- VRS DirectForce Pro DFP15: 15 Nm, the best-value high-end base.
- Asetek Forte: 18 Nm on a 22-bit encoder.
- Fanatec ClubSport DD+: 18 Nm holding torque with a console license.
- Simagic Alpha EVO Pro: 18 Nm for $699, a longer housing than the EVO rather than a higher tune.
- Simucube 3 Sport: 15 Nm, the long-standing reference.
- Simucube 3 Pro: 25 Nm for $200 over the Sport, on the same encoder and in the same box.
- Simucube 3 Ultimate: 35 Nm on an IPM motor for $3,299, the most torque and the most money in this list.
- Moza R21 Ultra: 21 Nm, and Moza rates it sustained rather than peak.
Which type should you buy?
Section titled “Which type should you buy?”Buy direct drive. An 8 Nm entry base like the Fanatec CSL DD, Moza R5, or Logitech RS50 costs near what a belt base does and beats it on smoothness, detail, latency, and noise. For which direct drive to buy at your budget, see the budget buying guide. Choose belt only if a specific bundle deal or brand ecosystem (existing rims, pedals) makes it cheaper for you right now. Check pedals and your rig before you push past 12 Nm.
How these compare
| Product | What you get | Drive and torque | MSRP | Platforms | Component only | Enough to steer | Enough to drive | Ready on a desk | In the box | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Moza R3 Racing Bundle | Base + wheel + pedals | 3.9 Nm peak Direct drive | $299 |
| Not sold separately | $299 All parts read in stock July 25, 2026. | $299 All parts read in stock July 25, 2026. | $299 All parts read in stock July 25, 2026. |
| July 25, 2026 |
| CAMMUS C5 | Base and wheel in one unit | 7 Nm peak Direct drive | Not recorded |
| Not recorded | Not recorded | Not recorded | Not recorded | Not recorded | July 27, 2026 |
| Moza R5 Racing Bundle | Base + wheel + pedals | 5.5 Nm peak Direct drive | $599 |
| Not sold separately | $599 All parts read in stock July 25, 2026. | $599 All parts read in stock July 25, 2026. | $599 All parts read in stock July 25, 2026. |
| July 25, 2026 |
| Fanatec CSL DD | Base only | 5 Nm peak Direct drive | $399.99 |
| $399.99 | $569.98 All parts read in stock July 29, 2026. | $709.97 All parts read in stock July 29, 2026. | $779.96 All parts read in stock July 29, 2026. |
| July 29, 2026 |
| Fanatec Gran Turismo DD Pro | Base only | 8 Nm peak Direct drive | $599.99 |
| $599.99 | $769.98 All parts read in stock July 29, 2026. | $909.97 All parts read in stock July 29, 2026. | $979.96 All parts read in stock July 29, 2026. |
| July 29, 2026 |
| Thrustmaster T598 | Base + wheel + pedals | 5 Nm sustained Direct drive | $499.99 |
| Sold separately, price unsettled | $499.99 Stock not stated on July 25, 2026. | $499.99 Stock not stated on July 25, 2026. | $499.99 Stock not stated on July 25, 2026. |
| July 2026 |
| VRS Upgradable Torque uDFP20 Wheel Base | Base only | 6 Nm peak Direct drive | $449 |
| $449 | $897 All parts read in stock August 1, 2026. | $1,546 All parts read in stock August 1, 2026. | Not recorded | Not recorded | August 1, 2026 |
| Moza R9 | Base only | 9 Nm peak Direct drive | $349 |
| $349 | $488 All parts read in stock July 25, 2026. | $637 All parts read in stock July 25, 2026. | $686 All parts read in stock July 25, 2026. |
| July 25, 2026 |
| Simagic Alpha EVO Sport | Not recorded | Not recorded | Not recorded | Not recorded | Not recorded | Not recorded | Not recorded | Not recorded | Not recorded | Not recorded |
| Logitech G RS50 | Base only | 8 Nm peak Direct drive | $349.99 |
| $349.99 | $569.97 Not buyable at this total on July 25, 2026. Out of stock: RS50 Base, PC; RS Wheel Hub, PC, which carries the quick release. Low stock: RS Round Wheel. | $729.96 Not buyable at this total on July 25, 2026. Out of stock: RS50 Base, PC; RS Wheel Hub, PC, which carries the quick release. Low stock: RS Round Wheel. In stock: RS Pedals, load cell brake and hall effect accelerator. | $759.95 Not buyable at this total on July 25, 2026. Out of stock: RS50 Base, PC; RS Wheel Hub, PC, which carries the quick release. Low stock: RS Round Wheel. In stock: RS Pedals, load cell brake and hall effect accelerator; Table Clamp for RS50. |
| July 2026 |
| Logitech G RS50 System | Base + wheel, no pedals | 8 Nm peak Direct drive | $699.99 |
| Not recorded | $699.99 All parts read in stock July 27, 2026. | $859.98 Not buyable at this total on July 27, 2026. Out of stock: RS Pedals, load cell brake and hall effect accelerator. In stock: RS50 System, base and wheel hub and round wheel pre-assembled. | $859.98 Not buyable at this total on July 27, 2026. Out of stock: RS Pedals, load cell brake and hall effect accelerator. In stock: RS50 System, base and wheel hub and round wheel pre-assembled. |
| July 27, 2026 |
| Simagic Alpha Mini | Base only | 10 Nm, metric not stated Direct drive | $399 |
| $399 | $688 All parts read in stock July 31, 2026. | $837 All parts read in stock July 31, 2026. | $876 All parts read in stock July 31, 2026. |
| July 31, 2026 |
| Moza R12 | Base only | 12 Nm peak Direct drive | $469 |
| $469 | $608 All parts read in stock July 25, 2026. | $757 All parts read in stock July 25, 2026. | $806 All parts read in stock July 25, 2026. |
| July 25, 2026 |
| Simagic Alpha EVO | Base only | 12 Nm, metric not stated Direct drive | $549 |
| $549 | $838 All parts read in stock July 30, 2026. | $1,027 All parts read in stock July 30, 2026. | $1,066 All parts read in stock July 30, 2026. |
| July 30, 2026 |
| Simagic Alpha | Base only | 15 Nm, metric not stated Direct drive | $649 |
| $649 | $938 All parts read in stock July 31, 2026. | $1,087 All parts read in stock July 31, 2026. | $1,126 All parts read in stock July 31, 2026. |
| July 31, 2026 |
| VRS DFP15 Wheel Base | Base only | 15 Nm peak Direct drive | $699 |
| $699 | $1,048 All parts read in stock July 31, 2026. | $1,697 All parts read in stock July 31, 2026. | Not recorded |
| July 31, 2026 |
| Asetek Forte | Base only | 18 Nm peak Direct drive | $949 |
| $949 | $1,098 All parts read in stock July 31, 2026. | $1,217 All parts read in stock July 31, 2026. | $1,296.99 All parts read in stock July 31, 2026. |
| July 31, 2026 |
| Fanatec ClubSport DD+ | Base only | 18 Nm holding Direct drive | $899.99 |
| $899.99 | $1,069.98 All parts read in stock July 29, 2026. | $1,209.97 All parts read in stock July 29, 2026. | $1,344.96 All parts read in stock July 29, 2026. |
| July 29, 2026 |
| Simagic Alpha EVO Pro | Base only | 18 Nm, metric not stated Direct drive | $699 |
| $699 | $988 All parts read in stock August 1, 2026. | $1,137 All parts read in stock August 1, 2026. | $1,176 All parts read in stock August 1, 2026. |
| August 1, 2026 |
| Simucube 3 Sport | Base only | 15 Nm peak Direct drive | $1,399 |
| $1,399 | $2,448 All parts read in stock July 31, 2026. | $4,865 All parts read in stock July 31, 2026. | Not recorded |
| July 31, 2026 |
| Simucube 3 Pro | Base only | 25 Nm peak Direct drive | $1,599 |
| $1,599 | $2,648 All parts read in stock August 1, 2026. | $5,065 All parts read in stock August 1, 2026. | Not recorded |
| August 1, 2026 |
| Simucube 3 Ultimate | Base only | 35 Nm peak Direct drive | $3,299 |
| $3,299 | $4,348 All parts read in stock August 1, 2026. | $6,765 All parts read in stock August 1, 2026. | Not recorded |
| August 1, 2026 |
| Moza R21 | Base only | 21 Nm sustained Direct drive | $699 |
| $699 | $838 All parts read in stock July 31, 2026. | $987 All parts read in stock July 31, 2026. | Not recorded |
| July 31, 2026 |
Drive and torque is the manufacturer’s own figure carrying the manufacturer’s own metric, quoted in the cell and read off the listing the cell links on the date it gives. None of it is measured here. “Peak” is the most a motor makes for an instant, “sustained” is what it can hold, and “holding” is what it resists at a standstill, so the same motor answers to three different numbers and two figures wearing different labels are not one comparison. Where a listing quotes a figure and names none of the three, the cell says the metric was not stated rather than picking the likeliest one. Under the figure is how that torque reaches the rim: through reduction gears, through a toothed belt, or by bolting the rim to the motor shaft. “Not recorded” means no record behind this table carries either half yet. Some of those products do carry an Nm figure in the prose above, stated there with no check date on it.
MSRP is the manufacturer’s regular list price, the figure a sale is discounted from. It excludes tax, shipping, discounts, and sale pricing, so check the buy links on a product’s own page for what a seller charges today. A list price is also not a claim that the SKU is orderable: stock is read per part in the three total columns. A price says nothing about whether the product is still the one its manufacturer sells. That answer is in the buy box at the top of that product’s own page, naming the catalog page it was read in and the month it was read there. A store showing something sold out settles none of it, which is why the stock readings in the three total columns are recorded per part and per day.
Platforms is which machines the thing talks to: PC, PlayStation, and Xbox, the same three in the same order on every row. Each answer is the manufacturer’s own, quoted and dated on that product’s own page, and none of it is tested here. “Only with another part” means the listing names the platform and puts it behind a purchase this one does not include, which is Logitech’s answer for Xbox on the RS50 base. “Listing does not say” means the manufacturer names that machine nowhere on the page, which is a different thing from saying it does not work, and it is the answer for both consoles on every bare Moza base here. Where a product is sold as more than one option and the options differ, the answer names the options it belongs to instead of the row: the Moza R3 drives an Xbox in the box Moza sells as “Xbox & PC”, which is the dearer of the two. “Not recorded” means nobody has read a listing for this one yet. The prose above states platform facts of its own, with no check date on them, and in places it states them differently: it describes the Thrustmaster T598 without the Xbox box Thrustmaster sells it in, and it names a PlayStation-licensed Fanatec base that has no record here at all. Where the prose and a cell disagree, the cell is the one with a quotation and a date behind it. Which part carries the console license, the base or the wheel, is not in this column. It decides what a reader has to buy to reach a console rather than whether one is reached, and wherever a manufacturer names the part, it is answered under the same heading on that product’s own page. Most of them name no part, so most of these rows have no answer to give. Whether a thing plugs into a computer over USB or works only fitted to a wheelbase or hub is under that same heading too, and it is not a column here for a plainer reason: every row here with a record is a base or a bundle built round one, and every one of them plugs into a computer. What differs is the parts the totals to the right of this column buy. Moza’s own listings put its ESX wheel on Moza wheelbases and its SRP2 pedals on “all sim racing brands”, and one enough-to-drive figure here buys both, so that page answers per part and names each part’s own listing.
Component only is the core hardware on its own. For a bundle, that is the base with the wheel and pedals taken off. It is not a price to drive: a bare base still needs a wheel, and most still need pedals. Where a manufacturer sells no such part on its own, the column says so and gives the month that was checked. Where it sells one but prices the product two ways across its own listings, the column links both instead of printing a figure that would not compare. Each figure is a regular list price and excludes tax, shipping, discounts, and sale pricing. “Not recorded” means nobody has checked yet.
Enough to steer is a base, a wheel or hub that works on it, and any quick release neither one includes. It stops there: no pedals, no shifter, no desk clamp. Where the total is more than one purchase, the cell names each part with its own price and links what the manufacturer says makes them fit. A wheel or a rim gets no total, because the same one adds up differently on every base it fits. Each figure is a regular list price and excludes tax, shipping, discounts, and sale pricing. The cell also gives what each part’s listing said about stock on the day it was read, and marks a total whose parts were not all orderable. “Not recorded” means nobody has priced a working path yet.
Enough to drive is that same path with a brake and throttle set under it. It stops there too: no clutch, no shifter, no desk clamp. Where the box already holds pedals the total is the bundle price, because the bundle cannot be bought without them. Where it does not, the pedal set is the cheapest brake-and-throttle set the same manufacturer sells, which is a ranking its own catalog settles. The cell names every part with its own price and links each statement the manufacturer makes about what works with what. Each figure is a regular list price and excludes tax, shipping, discounts, and sale pricing. The cell also gives what each part’s listing said about stock on the day it was read, and marks a total whose parts were not all orderable. “Not recorded” means nobody has priced a working path yet.
Ready on a desk is that same path with whatever holds the hardware to a desk, which every column to the left of it assumes somebody has already solved. Where a box ships a clamp the total is the box price, and the cell names the box list that says so. Where it does not, the clamp is the cheapest desk mount the same manufacturer sells for that base, and the cell links where the manufacturer names the base it fits. Pedals count here too where a set needs its own plate or brace to stay put; where a set ships that hardware, nothing is added. It still stops short of a clutch, a shifter, and a cockpit. Each figure is a regular list price and excludes tax, shipping, discounts, and sale pricing. The cell also gives what each part’s listing said about stock on the day it was read, and marks a total whose parts were not all orderable. “Not recorded” means nobody has priced a desk setup yet. What the manufacturer says about the mount itself is on that product’s own page, under “How it mounts”: the pattern underneath the base, and which surfaces the listing puts it on. No manufacturer quoted in this column publishes a torque above which a desk stops holding a base. Moza describes the clamp it sells for its own bases as engineered to handle full direct drive torque, and Logitech subtitles the clamp for the RS50 “Keep the RS50 secured on your desk even at max torque”.
In the box answers eight things a buyer has to know before the prices to the left of it compare: whether the box holds a wheel, pedals, a clutch, a power supply, a quick release, a desk clamp, cables, and mounting hardware. Every row lists the same eight in the same order. Each answer rests on the manufacturer’s own words, which are quoted on that product’s own page under “What’s in the box”, beside the box list they were read from. A quick release is two halves, one on the base and one on the wheel, so “In part” is a box that holds one of them. Mounting hardware means what fixes the hardware to a rig: bolts, T-nuts, washers, plates, and any tool the manufacturer supplies for them. A desk clamp is counted on its own line rather than as mounting hardware. “Listing does not say” means the manufacturer’s page settles the question neither way, “Not checked” means nobody has read that category yet, and “Not recorded” means nobody has read the box list at all. What a product can be bought on top of later is on that same page, under “Optional upgrades”, with the manufacturer’s own words naming each part and its own listing’s regular price beside it. That is a different question from the three totals to the left, which price what a product has to have bought before it works.
Last verified is the oldest date on any claim behind the row, so every other figure in the row was read on that day or later. A row is as old as the stalest reading in it, which is the rule the three total columns already use on their own parts, and a price checked yesterday beside a box list read a month ago dates to the month. Each claim still carries its own date where it renders: the MSRP cell gives the month that figure was checked, each total gives the month its oldest part was read and the day its stock was read, and every section on a product’s own page gives the date beside the wording it quotes. Where a record dates its oldest reading to a month and not to a day, the cell says the month and stops, which is the difference between a row reading July 2026 and a row reading a day in it. The link is the listing more of that row’s readings came from than any other, with the count beside it, and on every recorded row here it is also the listing the MSRP figure was read off. It is not the only page a row rests on: a total that buys a wheel and a pedal set was read off those parts’ own listings too, and the cells above link each of those where the claim is made. A date here says when somebody read a page, and nothing in this table is measured or tested. “Not recorded” means no product record stands behind the row, or none of its claims carries a date.
Model pages
- Asetek Forte
- CAMMUS C5
- Fanatec ClubSport DD+
- Fanatec CSL DD
- Fanatec Gran Turismo DD Pro
- Fanatec Racing Wheels: two $1,219.99 boxes with a base, a rim, and no pedals
- Fanatec Ready2Race: 14 bundles on four bases, $539.99 to $2,429.93
- Logitech G RS50
- Logitech G RS50 System
- Logitech G29 and G920 review: one $299.99 box, split by console
- Logitech G923 review: $349.99 for TrueForce on the same 2.3 Nm gears
- Logitech PRO Racing Wheel review: 11 Nm and a rim, no pedals, from $999.99
- Moza R12Current product. Moza Racing’s own catalog, checked July 2026.
- Moza R21Current product. Moza Racing’s own catalog, checked July 2026.
- Moza R3 Racing BundleCurrent product. Moza Racing’s own catalog, checked July 2026.
- Moza R5 Racing BundleCurrent product. Moza Racing’s own catalog, checked July 2026.
- Moza R9Current product. Moza Racing’s own catalog, checked July 2026.
- Simagic Alpha
- Simagic Alpha EVO
- Simagic Alpha EVO Pro
- Simagic Alpha EVO Sport review: the 9Nm feel-per-dollar pick
- Simagic Alpha Mini
- Simucube 3 Pro
- Simucube 3 Sport
- Simucube 3 Ultimate
- Thrustmaster T598
- VRS DFP15 Wheel Base
- VRS Upgradable Torque uDFP20 Wheel Base
A status is where the manufacturer’s own catalog puts the product, read on the date beside it off the page it links. An entry with none has no established status, either because no product record stands behind the page or because the record’s manufacturer publishes nothing that settles it. Neither says the product is discontinued, and none of it is a reading of stock: what a seller had on a given day is on that product’s own page.
Buying guides
- Logitech G29 vs G920 vs G923: four SKUs, two prices, one $50 question
- Wheelbase buying guide by budget: under $350 to $600+ to drive
Comparisons
Frequently asked questions
What's the real difference between a cheap wheel and an expensive direct-drive one?
How the motor torque reaches the rim. Gear and belt drives add lash and compliance that filter out kerb texture and on-center detail and cap torque around 2 to 4 Nm. Direct drive bolts the rim straight to the motor shaft for 1:1 force, lower latency, near-silent operation, and 5 to 35 Nm of clean, detailed feedback with no consumable parts.
Does a direct-drive wheel make you faster or make racing easier?
No, it does not lower lap times by itself. It adds detail and feel, not grip. DD removes gear lash and belt smear so you feel the front tires start to wash and the rear step out earlier, which makes the limit easier to read. The improvement comes from reading those cues, not from the motor.
Is a cheap wheel like the Logitech G29 still better than a controller?
Yes for most racing. A wheel gives analog steering precision and, on the G29, roughly 2 Nm of force feedback through plastic gears that a controller cannot match. But the gear-driven G29, G920, and G923 top out near 2 Nm with backlash, so an entry direct drive is the bigger jump once budget allows.
Is cogging still a problem on modern direct-drive bases?
Mostly no. Cogging, or torque ripple, was DD's old weakness, faint magnetic steps felt at low speed, but better motors, high-resolution encoders, and firmware filtering have made it a non-issue on current bases. Only old or very cheap DD units still show a trace of it.