Skip to content

MOZA GS V2P GT Wheel review: the carbon-and-leather GT rim

Researched overview Manufacturer listings and owner reports, with no hands-on testing.

MOZA GS V2P GT Wheel, three-quarter front view of the forged carbon fiber rim with perforated microfiber leather grips and RGB buttons
Image: Moza.

The MOZA GS V2P puts a 300mm forged carbon fiber GT rim on a MOZA base for $399, Moza’s regular price on its own US store. The rim, face plate, and shifter paddles are all forged carbon, the grips are perforated microfiber leather, and you get 28+ programmable inputs without paying for a built-in display. It runs only on MOZA bases, with no standalone USB mode and no cross-brand quick release.

TypeGT wheel
Rim300mm; 5mm forged carbon fiber rim and face plate, carbon-fiber-reinforced composite back plate, perforated microfiber leather grips, 3mm forged carbon fiber shifter paddles
Inputs28+ programmable: 10 backlit mechanical RGB buttons, 5 rotary encoders, 2 depressible thumb encoders, 2 universal joysticks, 2 magnetic shifter paddles, 2 analog clutch/dual-clutch paddles
DisplayNo screen. 10-bead RGB LED rev/shift strip (8 selectable colors), configurable in MOZA Pit House
ConnectivityAll-aluminum MOZA quick release with wired conductive slip ring; MOZA bases only (R3, R5, R9 V2/V3, R12 V2, R16 V2, R21 V2/Ultra, R25 Ultra). No standalone USB mode, no cross-brand QR, no V1 wireless bases
Price$399 regular price on Moza's US store, which showed a $369 sale price crossed out against it on July 27, 2026
Best forGT and endurance racers in the MOZA ecosystem who want carbon and leather without a built-in screen

A carbon-and-leather GT rim for someone already running a MOZA base who doesn’t want to pay for a dashboard.

Buy it if:

  • You’re on a MOZA direct-drive base (R5 through R25 Ultra) and want a step up in rim material.
  • You want the GT input set: 5 rotaries, 2 thumb encoders, 2 joysticks, RGB backlit buttons, and dual clutch paddles.
  • You read telemetry on an external dash, so a built-in screen would be wasted money.

Not the one if you want a screen in the rim (look at the Fanatec ClubSport GT V2) or you’re on a Fanatec base, where the Fanatec ClubSport Universal Hub V2 takes a rim of your choosing over QR2.

Forged carbon and leather. The rim, face plate, and shifter paddles are forged carbon fiber, 5mm at the rim and 3mm at the paddles. The grips are perforated microfiber leather over the carbon, so the parts you hold feel like a real GT3 wheel rather than molded plastic. The composite back plate keeps weight down behind the hub.

Inputs where you reach. The layout is built for GT and endurance stints. Five rotary encoders and two depressible thumb encoders sit within thumb travel for traction control, brake bias, and ABS, while two joysticks handle menu and pit-screen navigation. The 10 RGB buttons are mechanical and backlit so you can find them in a dim cockpit, and you assign all of it in MOZA Pit House.

Paddles and rev strip. Behind the rim are two magnetic shifter paddles and two analog clutch paddles that support a dual-clutch bite point for clean standing starts. The only light is a 10-bead RGB LED strip across the top with 8 selectable colors, set as a rev and shift indicator in software. There is no screen, so anything beyond shift lights lives on an external dash.

  • No onboard screen. You get a 10-LED rev strip and nothing else, so fuel, lap delta, and tire temps need an external dash. Budget for one if you rely on those mid-race.
  • MOZA-only quick release. The wheel locks to the MOZA ecosystem. There’s no standalone USB or PC mode and no cross-brand quick release, so it requires a MOZA base to function at all.
  • No V1 wireless bases. It will not run on the older R9 V1, R16 V1, or R21 V1. Confirm your base is on the supported list (R3, R5, R9 V2/V3, R12 V2, R16 V2, R21 V2/Ultra, R25 Ultra) before buying.

The other MOZA wheel that cost $369.00 on 2 August 2026

Section titled “The other MOZA wheel that cost $369.00 on 2 August 2026”

MOZA sells a 13-inch round wheel at $439.00 regular, the RS V2, and on 2 August 2026 both it and the GS V2P showed $369.00 on MOZA’s US store. Those were the only two of MOZA’s 13 wheels at that figure that day. The two do not tie at list, where $40.00 separates them, and MOZA does tie four pairs of the 13 there: at $279.00, $329.00, $399.00, and $1,299.00. The GS V2P’s own list-price tie is with the $399.00 Revuelto. What the $40.00 buys is a different rim, a 13-inch leather circle against this wheel’s 300mm forged carbon.

WheelPrice, MOZA US store, 2 August 2026GenerationLifecycleHow MOZA’s spec block differs from the GS V2P’sBuy
Moza Racing RS V2 Steering Wheel$439.00 regular, $369.00 that dayV2Current, in MOZA’s US steering-wheel collection on 2 August 2026”Size: 13 Inches” against “300mm Diameter Standard Racing Wheel”; “Grips: Genuine Leather” against “Perforated Microfiber Leather”; “Back Plate Material: Aluminium” against “Carbon Fiber Reinforced Composite”; “Rotary Encoders: 2” against 5; “Release Method: MOZA Quick Release” against “All-aluminum MOZA quick release”, with a “Quick Release Material: Aluminium” row of its own. It carries four shift-light rows the GS V2P has none of, and no thumb encoder, clutch paddle, or paddle sensor rowMOZA

The two spec blocks barely use the same words. MOZA publishes 20 rows for the RS V2 and 18 for the GS V2P, and only six labels appear on both: Size, Grips, Back Plate Material, Rotary Encoders, Choice of Colors, and Release Method. One of those six carries the same value, “Choice of Colors: 8”. The other five differ, and the remaining 14 RS V2 rows and 12 GS V2P rows have no counterpart to be set against, so most of what MOZA states about either wheel cannot be compared to the other at all.

The GS V2P has the deeper input set and the RS V2 has the lights. Five rotary encoders against two is the widest gap between any two values MOZA states for both wheels, and MOZA gives the GS V2P two more rows the RS V2 spec block does not carry, “Thumb Encoders (depressible): 2” and “Clutch Paddles: 2”. The RS V2 answers with four rows of its own about the shift light: “Shift Light Indicator”, “Shift Light Customization”, “Shift Light Color Options: 7”, and “Shift Light Mode Switch”, plus “RPM Indicator: Yes”. Both wheels get “Choice of Colors: 8” for the buttons.

The RS V2 has clutch paddles on every surface but its spec block. The feature block on the listing is headed “Dual-Clutch Magnetic Paddles” and says you can “Easily switch between single and dual-clutch mode”, and MOZA’s separate overview page for the wheel puts a number on them, “The two-clutch paddles are easily toggled between single or dual-clutch mode”. The spec block carries no clutch row, so the count comes off the overview page and not off the listing. The GS V2P states it twice in its own spec block, “Clutch Paddles: 2” and “Dual Clutch Modes: Combined Axis / Independent Axis / Button”.

Only one of the two tells you which bases it fits. The GS V2P listing names nine MOZA bases it works on and refuses three by model, the R9 V1, R16 V1, and R21 V1. The RS V2 listing states compatibility once, in its product description, as “all MOZA wheelbases currently on sale”, and no MOZA page says which bases those are. Its only per-base answer is MOZA’s compatibility chart, which ticks “RS V2 Wheel” under all eight of its base columns and has no column for the R9 V1 or for the R16 Ultra, a base whose own store record dates its listing to 28 July 2026.

No third-party route is stated on the RS V2 page. The phrase “third-party” appears four times in its source and renders zero times: three are one <meta> description promising “full compatibility with MOZA and third-party wheelbases” and the fourth is the site footer. The MOZA Universal Hub Kit is the $59.00 part nine of MOZA’s 13 wheel listings send a buyer to, and its own listing names four wheels among what it supports without naming this one. The MOZA wheel catalog sets all 13 listings against each other on that question.

Every RS V2 figure and quotation above was read on 2 August 2026 off MOZA’s RS V2 listing, its overview page, the steering wheels collection, the Universal Hub Kit listing, and MOZA Racing Products Compatibility. The GS V2P spec rows quoted beside them were read off its own listing the same day.

The Fanatec GT wheel $49.01 under it, on a quick release this one cannot take

Section titled “The Fanatec GT wheel $49.01 under it, on a quick release this one cannot take”

These two cannot be bought instead of each other. The GS V2P fits Moza bases over the Moza quick release and the Fanatec CSL Elite Steering Wheel Porsche Vision GT fits Fanatec bases over a QR2 Lite, so the base decides before the rim does. What puts them on one table is $49.01 and a shape: two round GT rims within 10 mm of each other, both built on metal, both aimed at the same cars.

WheelPrice, Fanatec US store, 2 August 2026GenerationLifecycleWhat Fanatec’s own copy says it isBuy
Fanatec CSL Elite Steering Wheel Porsche Vision GT$349.99 regular, no sale price shownNone publishedNot stated. Fanatec publishes no lifecycle a shopper can read; the listing was one of 24 cards in its US Steering Wheels category on 2 August 2026”Officially licensed Porsche Vision Gran Turismo concept car steering wheel”. A “310 mm diameter suits many driving styles” against this wheel’s 300mm; “Cast aluminum structure delivers exceptional strength for direct feedback” and “Durable Tactaris material provides comfort and grip” against forged carbon and perforated microfiber leather; “Seven rotary encoders” including “Two Multi-Position Switches (12 positional inputs or rotary encoder mode)” against five rotaries and two thumb encoders; and an “OLED display for Tuning Menu settings and game telemetry (e.g. gear indicator, speed)” where the GS V2P has a 10-bead LED strip and no screen at allFanatec

The screen is what the $49.01 buys, and it runs the other way from the price. The cheaper wheel is the one with a display. Fanatec puts a Tuning Menu behind the Porsche crest and reads gear and speed off it; MOZA answers the same question with ten RGB beads and sends everything else to an external dash.

Fanatec’s own comparison is not with this wheel. Fanatec publishes a buyer’s guide titled “CSL Steering Wheel GT3 vs CSL Elite Steering Wheel Porsche Vision GT: Which should you choose?” and links it from both of those listings. The CSL Steering Wheel GT3 at $229.99 is the wheel a Porsche Vision GT buyer is actually weighing, and $120.00 separates the two.

Neither listing names a console the way a Fanatec Xbox wheel does. The Porsche Vision GT listing renders no Platforms block at all: the word “Platforms” returns zero hits across its whole served document, and the only Xbox string that survives stripping the document’s <script> blocks is the site footer’s description of Fanatec’s catalog. What answers instead is a Platform spec attribute reading “PC, PlayStation Ready” that lives in the page’s data rather than in its rendered copy. The GS V2P names PC and nothing else. So on consoles both wheels are quiet, for different reasons.

Every Porsche Vision GT figure and quotation above was read on 2 August 2026 off its own Fanatec listing and the Steering Wheels category, which served 24 cards and reported “24 results available” that day. The price is the price field in the listing’s own Product JSON-LD, matching the price printed on the page. The GS V2P rows quoted beside it were read off its own listing the same day.

The Fanatec formula wheel at the same $349.99, and why its row is here at all

Section titled “The Fanatec formula wheel at the same $349.99, and why its row is here at all”

A third cross-brand row, and this one is the furthest from the wheel at the top of the page. The Fanatec ClubSport Formula V3 is a 290 mm open-top formula rim for open-wheel cars on Fanatec bases, and the GS V2P is a 300 mm round GT rim for Moza bases. Neither is an alternative to the other for any buyer. What puts the row here is a price and a form: Test B in HARDWARE_PRODUCT_BACKLOG.md compares records on form, drive type, torque, and price, the wheels category records none of the middle two, and $349.99 against $399.00 is $49.01, which is 14.00% of the smaller figure where the criterion asks for 25%. The full derivation, and the page the row should arguably sit on instead, are on src/content/products/fanatec-clubsport-formula-v3.yaml.

WheelPrice, Fanatec US store, 2 August 2026GenerationLifecycleWhat Fanatec’s own copy says it isBuy
Fanatec ClubSport Formula V3$349.99 regular, no sale price shown. Its page also read “This item is currently on backorder but is expected to ship 08/20/2026 - 08/23/2026”V3, written that way in the listing’s <h1>, its Product JSON-LD name, its browser title, and both of its Declaration of Conformity labelsNot stated. Fanatec publishes no lifecycle a shopper can read. The listing carries a “NEW” flag, and Fanatec’s own announcement article is stamped “Last updated: April 29, 2026”An open-wheel rim, not a round one: “290 mm diameter Formula-style steering wheel” with a “5 mm-thick carbon fiber front plate” and “User-replaceable grips (perforated leather)” against this wheel’s 300mm forged carbon and perforated microfiber leather. A “2.7” white OLED display” where the GS V2P has a 10-bead LED strip and no screen. “Three 12-way rotary switches”, “Two 7-way FunkySwitches”, and “Two thumb-reachable rotary dials” against five rotaries and two thumb encoders. “QR2 Wheel-Side preinstalled”, which no Moza base takes, and “approx. 1350 g (including quick release)“Fanatec

Its own family is on another page. Fanatec sells this wheel as the successor to the ClubSport Steering Wheel Formula V2.5 and V2.5 X, which it groups on one line of its QR2 page, and the ClubSport Formula V2.5 X review sets the V3 against both of them at length. It is not a row there because the price criterion puts the V2.5 X 25.72% away, 0.72 points over the threshold, so the rule that routes a row could not reach that page.

No console arrives with it. Fanatec writes “Xbox: This Steering Wheel is not compatible with Xbox.” and “PlayStation: This Steering Wheel becomes compatible with PlayStation when connected to a compatible, PlayStation-licensed Fanatec Base.” So a PlayStation racer buys the license with the base and an Xbox racer cannot use this wheel at all. The GS V2P names PC and nothing else, so neither wheel puts a console in the box.

Every ClubSport Formula V3 figure and quotation above was read on 2 August 2026 off its own Fanatec listing, with the announcement date off the Fanatec Explorer article Fanatec Special Event: new hardware and performance updates. The price is the price field in the listing’s own Product JSON-LD, matching the price printed on the page.

  • Simagic GT Neo: ~$289 GT rim, cheaper if you’re on a Simagic base and don’t need forged carbon and leather.
  • Fanatec ClubSport GT V2: ~$515 GT wheel for the Fanatec ecosystem, the pick if you want a richer build and rim hardware at premium price.
  • Cube Controls GT Pro V2: ~$849 if you want a boutique GT rim and will pay flagship money for it.
  • Fanatec ClubSport Universal Hub V2: ~$370 with QR2, the way to pick your own GT rim if the base under it is a Fanatec rather than a MOZA. It is open on the rim side and closed on the base side, so it swaps one ecosystem for another rather than escaping both.

Confirm your MOZA base is on the V2/V3-era supported list, then map the rotaries and clutch paddles in MOZA Pit House before your first stint.

Which platforms it works on

PC
Listing does not say
PlayStation
Listing does not say
Xbox
Listing does not say
Console license
Not recorded
How it connects
Only through a wheelbase or hub“The GS V2P is compatible with the MOZA direct-drive wheel bases that feature wired (conductive slip ring) support, including current-generation bases such as:” “These models use the older wireless transmission system and do not support the GS V2P’s wired conductive connection.”Moza Racing’s own listing, checked July 2026.Both lines are Moza's answer to its own question “Is the GS V2P compatible with all MOZA bases?”, the first opening it and the last closing it. In between, the answer lists eight bullets naming nine base models it fits, one bullet being “R9 V2 / R9 V3”, and three older wireless ones it does not, and “These models” in the second line is those three. Moza puts this wheel on its own bases, on a subset of them, and names no other way to use it: what it describes is a wired connection to a base rather than a connection to a computer. This wheel is $399 and it drives nothing without one of those bases. Moza's own markup sets a non-breaking space before “MOZA” in the first line.

Moza names no platform for this wheel anywhere on its listing. Its only compatibility statement is about its own hardware, answering “Is the GS V2P compatible with all MOZA bases?” with a list of wheel bases, so nothing on the page settles what machine the wheel reaches.

Frequently asked questions

Does the MOZA GS V2P have a screen?

No. There is no onboard dashboard display. It has a 10-bead RGB LED rev/shift strip with 8 selectable colors, configurable in MOZA Pit House. For telemetry you need an external dash, so price one in if you read fuel, lap delta, or tire temps on the wheel. See the button-box and accessory notes for the usual add-ons.

Which wheelbases work with the GS V2P?

MOZA bases only, over the all-aluminum MOZA quick release: R3, R5, R9 V2/V3, R12 V2, R16 V2, R21 V2/Ultra, and R25 Ultra. It does not work on the older wireless V1 bases (R9 V1, R16 V1, R21 V1), and there is no cross-brand quick release. If you're picking a base, start with the Moza R5 and the wheelbase brands compared page.

GS V2P or Simagic GT Neo?

The GS V2P costs more ($399 against the GT Neo's ~$289 regular price) and spends it on a full forged carbon rim, perforated microfiber leather grips, and a deeper input set. The Simagic GT Neo is the cheaper GT rim if you don't need the carbon and you're already on a Simagic base. Both are GT-style, so the deciding factor is which base ecosystem you live in.

MOZA GS V2P or RS V2? They cost the same on the day.

A 300mm forged carbon rim against a 13-inch leather one, and three more rotary encoders. The GS V2P is $399.00 regular and the RS V2 is $439.00, and both showed $369.00 on MOZA's US store on 2 August 2026. MOZA's spec block gives the GS V2P "Rotary Encoders: 5", "Thumb Encoders (depressible): 2", and "Clutch Paddles: 2"; the RS V2's gives "Rotary Encoders: 2" and no thumb encoder or clutch row at all, and answers with four shift-light rows the GS V2P has none of. The GS V2P is also the one whose listing names your base: it lists nine MOZA bases it fits and three it refuses, where the RS V2 says only "all MOZA wheelbases currently on sale" and never says which those are.

How many inputs does the GS V2P have?

28+ programmable inputs: 10 backlit mechanical RGB buttons, 5 rotary encoders, 2 depressible thumb encoders, 2 universal joysticks, 2 magnetic shifter paddles, and 2 analog clutch paddles. MOZA's marketing headline says 72 Inputs, but the spec sheet describes the 28+ figure. The wheel button-mapping guide covers how to assign them.